Eight Candidates Withdraw from the SU Elections

24th February 2014

Student Leader Elections

As of Tuesday 4th March, eight candidates have withdrawn from the SU Student Leader Elections. There are now 50 candidates:

  • Sam Todd is no longer running for Mature Students’ Officer. The position is now uncontested.
  • Josh Powell is no longer running for President
  • Jack Salter, the current LGBT Officer, is no longer running for President
  • Pelumi Owoseje is no longer running for Community Officer
  • Yixiu Jiang is no longer running for Education Officer
  • Lauren Godin is no longer running for Disabled Students’ Officer
  • Boudicca Palmer Roberts is no longer running for Activities Officer
  • YOLO is no longer running for President

The current candidates campaigning for the seven full-time Student Leader positions are:


  • Callum Morris
  • Harry Copson
  • James Potts
  • Johnny Lawrence
  • Katie Williams
  • Mandour Jr.
  • Tom Hicks

Activities Officer:

  • Hugh Purves
  • Joe Caunce
  • Jonathan Davis
  • Nick Mugridge

Sports Officer:

  • Adam Turner
  • Chloe Scott-Mearns
  • Frazer Bowen
  • Jack Mousley
  • Jon Spinks
  • Kiri Madhani

Education Officer:

  • Adam BK
  • Alex Turner
  • Paulina Niemczewska
  • Pratheek “Raff” Badrinath
  • Greg Timms

Equal Opportunities and Welfare Officer:

  • Andrew Hadley
  • Chloe Averill
  • Seonaid Deuchar

Community Officer:

  • Ben Haddock
  • Charlotte Youngs
  • Mike Olatokun
  • Paul Thomas

Post-graduate Officer:

  • Anas Elhag
  • Chelsea Wright
  • Chioma Eke
  • Noorulann Shahid
  • Sarah Clayton

The current candidates campaigning for the seven part-time Student Leader positions are:


  • Andrew Jowitt
  • Pheebs Lau

International Students’ Officer

  • Abel Hartman
  • Alexandra Pinzariu
  • Ting Li
  • Van Q Bui
  • Zhao Yue

Women’s Officer

  • Emma Ehrenberg and Beth Searby (job share)

Environment and Social Justice Officer

  • Duncan Davis
  • Kevin Hassan
  • Emily Holmes

Disabled Students’ Officer

  • James Storm Otieno

Mature Students’ Officer

  • John Chatterjee-Woolman

BME Officer

  • HUDA
  • Nadhya Kamalaneson
  • Prince Phathisani Ncube

The results will be announced on Elections Night, on Friday 14th March.

URN is your best source for elections. From Monday 3rd March, tune in to The Pulse every day from 5pm when we will be discussing the role of these elections, the changes the candidates wish to make, as well as talking to the candidates themselves. We’ll also be meeting the people behind the policies on our Elections Show 6-7pm from Monday 10th March.